top of page

American University of Sharjah

General Description

American University of Sharjah (AUS) was founded in 1997 by His Highness Sheikh Dr. Sultan bin Mohammed Al Qasimi, Member of the Supreme Council of the United Arab Emirates and Ruler of Sharjah. Sheikh Sultan articulated his vision of a distinctive institution against the backdrop of Islamic history and in the context of the aspirations and needs of contemporary society in the UAE and the Gulf region. Firmly grounded in principles of meritocracy and with a strong reputation for academic excellence, AUS has come to represent the very best in teaching and research, accredited internationally and recognized by employers the world over for creating graduates equipped with the knowledge, skills and drive to lead in the 21st century. AUS offers 32 majors and 46 minors at the undergraduate level, 18 master's degree programs and five PhD programs through the following academic units.


Stephen Chan is an Associate Professor of Mathematics at the American University of Sharjah. He was awarded the EPSRC Doctoral Prize Fellowship in 2016 at the University of Manchester, UK. His research focuses on extreme value analysis and distribution theory for financial commodities and blockchain data. 

Stephen_chan.jpg copy.jpg

How we contribute to the MSCA:

bottom of page